Artist Statement (Final Blog Post)

In this Art semester I have learned countless new techniques and have grown as an artist. At the beginning of the year I was just trying Art class out because I didn’t know what else to do. I’m happy to say that I have enjoyed Art this semester and am considering taking it next year in grade 10. My favourite Technique/Media would have to be plain old drawing, or inking. I don’t really notice a style in my artwork but I can sort of see that I go for something that includes a sense of realism. This semester I wasn’t really open to trying new things in the beginning but I have now opened up a little to trying out other types of techniques and media like watercolour and plasticine. I feel my largest area of growth is in shading and drawing. I’m going to make a strong effort to keep creating and practicing Art after I finish the semester. What I am most proud of as an artist is my ability to be patient sometimes and to not rush. All in all this semester in Art has opened my eyes to different types of media and techniques and has inspired me to continue with discovering more stuff to do with Art in the future.

Leave a Reply

